My Healthy Living Journey

Recently, I joined two of my favorite people, the Katz family, and completed a 60-day challenge as a team at our gym. Although our team didn’t win, one of our team members won the whole challenge. I was so proud of him and inspired. One of the biggest things for me during this 60-day challenge was joining others on their journey. I wanted to share both my written and video testimony at the end of the challenge.

I surprisingly lost 4 lbs., around 4 total inches and 7% Body Fat. I concentrated on strength for this challenge, and did a lot of cycling and swimming for a TRI that I was training for. I lost a lot of fat/gained muscle in my thighs alone from all of the cycling. I can say with my new road bike, I seriously fell in love with cycling.

My video testimony:

My written testimony:
I was surprised by my measurements today. I didn’t think I would have lost any weight! I came very close to meeting my personal goal of a no-band pull up and I started with the blue one when I set the goal a month ago! Now I am a step away from using no-band at all. I have set some really great personal fitness goals and it’s my belief that you always keep doing this – no matter how big or small that goal is. Whether it be doing a push up or finishing a marathon. Nothing is out of your realm of possibilities – I have just discovered that some things take longer to get there. Even when I started my journey, I never expected to be where I am. You start with one small step and one day you look back and realize how far in the distance that step is. The most amazing part of this 60 day challenge for me has been watching other peoples’ journeys – ALL OF YOU. I’ve made friends, I ‘ve gotten stronger and more fit – yes, yes, yes. But when someone allows you to be part of their journey, it is incredibly inspiring and powerful.

For most of the world around us, we don’t know peoples’ journeys. We don’t know if they were once healthy and fit and now are obese and sick. But people around them judge them. We also don’t know the skinny girl in the store and her journey to being an athlete – because we don’t know her. But most will judge her. They may say she is anorexic or too skinny. They may say she is not a role model just because of how she is built, not knowing anything about her. 

Here, I get to be part of your journey and you all part of mine. With encouragement instead of judgment. With the true vision of how we want the world to see fitness: as a lifestyle of eating healthy, being active and sharing that joy with our friends and family. So THANK YOU all (at Elite Urban Fitness) for being courageous enough to take on the challenge and let me see you progress and cheer you on. It has been TRUELY inspiring!!!

Remember that you can do more than you think you can. You are more than you are think you are. Set goal. Exceed Goal. REPEAT. If you fall down, get back up and do it again. #fearless2014

One thought on “My Healthy Living Journey

  1. Pingback: My Healthy Living Journey | Girl on the Run

Leave a Reply

