Are you giving it ALL you’ve got?

harbor

Progress. It’s a slow thing. Sometimes it takes others to see it in you before you even notice. The first time I saw it is when my favorite skirt didn’t fit anymore (that’s ok, I found a new favorite skirt). Then I could do 5 push-ups instead of just 2. Then I finally met my goal of running 1.5 miles in under 15:12. When I started, I could barely run a mile in 14 minutes and I was out of breath doing that. Last week, I had my PR on a hilly 5k course at 27:49. #lifeisgood

progress

It’s been 2 years and 2 months since I first laced up a pair of running shoes. That was 40 pounds ago. Now I’m training for a Triathlon, running races, eating right and feeling fantastic! Last night I did a dry run of the TRI (which let me just note had entirely too many hills for my taste) with much success. My only goal was to finish it when I started this thing – first jumping into the pool “looking like a fish out of water” as my friend put it. I was so far out of my element and I went from swimming half a lap and having to stop to doing 500 yards in 22 minutes to doing it in 13 minutes. Now I think that maybe I can give myself a time goal for this thing!

So my question to you all is, are you giving it all you’ve got? Are you taking the time to make little or big changes? Are you going to look back in 5, 10, 15 or 20 years and say “If I had taken 10 minutes a day to do that” or “I wish I would have taken that vacation or weekend away or done to this or that or signed up for that race..?” Don’t be that person. Don’t live with regret. Don’t put off until tomorrow. Life is now or never. Live it now.

Life doesn’t have a remote, you have to get UP and change it YOURSELF. #fearless2014

 

3 thoughts on “Are you giving it ALL you’ve got?

Leave a Reply

