A How-To for Homemade Trail-mix

I recently discovered the joy of making my own trail mix! I’m still working with different ingredients, and the right mix of each, but it’s great having a trail mix you love and know you’ll eat all of!

To top, I add a similar mix to my morning oatmeal (usually dried berries such as cranberries or cherries, flax seed, walnuts and almonds).

20140116-232235.jpg

I started by hitting up the bulk section. My local grocery store has one, and we have an organic co-op that has a larger one. I picked out and bagged all of the things I wanted that just happened to be packed with the right nutrients that you need to keep going (see why this is double great?)

20140116-232534.jpg

Stick it in a gallon size bag and shake. Divide how you want in whatever containers you want. I like keeping it in the bag for traveling on the road, but also love using mason jars for smaller portions and to keep at my desk.

20140116-232746.jpg

So tell me, what goes in your trail mix?

Leave a Reply

