A Week of Adventures in Alaska

Today’s Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Temperature: A WARM 28F mmm mmm
Sunrise/Sunset: 10:46am/2:45pm – 12 days until we gain light again!
Listening to: Christmas Radio on iTunes
Success of the Day: cross-country skiing in this warm weather!

My apologies, I have some blog catching up to do! The weather in Alaska has been unpredictable, to say the least. It is very warm right now, which I am not complaining about!

Thanksgiving: Much to be thankful for this year! A year of so many fitness goals met, being happy and healthy, getting to travel all over Alaska and to 9 different states, and for a wonderful & supportive partner who I’ve known over 2 years now! I’m surrounded by incredible people, to top it all off! I spent thanksgiving in Anchorage, where it was much colder than anticipated, and not enough good snow to bring the skiis down for some cross-country skiing. But I did get some new running shoes at Skinny Raven that aren’t out at any other stores in AK yet. Very nice, indeed!

JNU Sunrise

Juneau at Sunrise

I was lucky enough to break in my running shoes trail running the mountains of Juneau, Ak! Whoa! Talk about incredible, breathtaking beauty!! It was my first time there, and there is alot I didnt get to see so I am definately planning a visit back! I was lucky enough to have sunshine and warmth the entire time I was there. Seeing new places in Alaska renews my love of this great state. What a place to be, what a place to live, what a place to call my home!

avalance

Trail running in Juneau

After Thanksgiving and Juneau, its been a little tough to get back into my routine, but I’m trying! Starting out with some local hockey isn’t a bad way to start, eh? Go Ice Dogs!

hockeyNothing like a good hockey fight that the refs have trouble breaking up!

It helped that as I went to pick up a friend who lives on the ridge for the game, the Aurora (aka Northern Lights) were out in all their glory. Oh my oh my! What a view it was from up on the ridge! Allow me to share the view:

This week, I have remembered why I love Alaska so much. I got to visit Juneau for a statewide Prevention Summit and see many people from around the state that I only get to see at these events, and met so many new and incredible people to network with. To see what our state is doing about violence prevention, to see the amazing people and their passion, and to see new and beautiful parts of Alaska – THIS Alaska Girl on the Run is one lucky girl.

Leave a Reply

