Summertime 2013 in Fairbanks

Yay! It’s like, the best time of the year! Right? Right? We’ve waited forever for this! What’s the best way to describe summer in Fairbanks, Alaska? Well, I guess it would be like crack, but then again, I don’t know what crack is like. But that’s my guess. It’s the most amazing thing IN THE WORLD, you run around like crazy trying to enjoy it, you don’t want it end, and then when it does, you go crazy trying to get it back. Well…now it’s mid-July. Which means we’re already like, oh crap, summer is almost over. CRAP. CRAP. CRAP! Fairbanks has its ups and downs, all year long.

Fairbanks summertime… THE GOOD

  • Running outside!
  • Biking outside!
  • Kayaking the rivers & lakes (this week, I saw a moose swimming in the lake while I was kayaking)
  • The Farmers Market
  • The Pita Place
  • Gardening (I planted my 1st one this year!)
  • Summer Solstice Street Fair
  • 24 hour sunlight (duh!)
  • Foodstock (if you don’t know, you won’t know)
  • Summer Solstice Festival
  • Did I mention the Midnight Sun?? I love it.
  • Being able to travel Alaska highways without the worry of snowstorms
  • Tourists… they bring business and you meet a lot of cool people

Fairbanks summertime… THE BAD

  • Wildfires… because then I can’t run
  • Wildfires…because then I can’t bike
  • Wildfires…because then I can’t breathe outside
  • Wildfires…because my friends are evacuated from their homes
  • Wildfires…because sometimes, the highway is closed
  • The line at River City Cafe at lunchtime…when you don’t quite beat the tour bus rush.
  • Tourists (yes, they are the good & the bad)

Fairbankspic

 

Leave a Reply

